Wednesday, October 20, 2010

The 12 states of the Midwest region of the US

The region known as the Midwest -

- N Dakota, S Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas
- Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri
- Wisconsin, Illinois
- Michigan, Indiana
- Ohio

- the Agricultural Heartland of the US, says WG
- corn, corn and more corn
- soybeans, wheat
- hogs and other livestock

- Mississippi River provides a profitable trade route. Connects to the Gulf of Mexico and the world's oceans.
- Great Lakes also enhance trade; they connect to the Atlantic Ocean and all the world.

See Mrs Smheo as a mnemonic for the Great lakes.

What central locus lies at 42N, 87W?